The Constitution of Bulgaria was adopted in 1991 and has been amended 4 times since then. It contains 10 chapters and 169 articles. Bulgaria joined the EU in January 2007 together with Romania. Its Constitution includes a specific mention about the participation of the country in the construction of the European Union.