The Constitution of Sweden is made up of four fundamental laws: the Instrument of Government (1974) the Act of Succession (1810), The Freedom of the Press Act (1766) and the Fundamental Law on Freedom of Expression (1991). The Instrument of Government has been amended 40 times since then. Sweden joined the European Union in 1993. Its Constitution does not include specific references to the EU.