The Constitution of Montenegro was adopted in 2007. It contains 158 articles and is divided in 8 parts. In 1999 the European Union proposed the Stabilisation and Association Process (SAP) for five countries of South-Eastern Europe, including Montenegro. In March 2007 an Association Agreement (SAA) was officially initialled by the Prime Minister of Montenegro.