The Belgian Constitution was adopted in 1831 and it has been reformed in several ocassions since then. It contains 9 titles and 198 articles. Belgium is a founding member of the European Union. Its Constitution does not include specific mentions to the EU, although it contains a reference to the eventual exercise of power by public international institutions.