Duration and type of regime

Europe has witnessed repressive regimes during much of the XX century and only few countries have enjoyed continuous democratic regimes (Ireland, Sweden and UK). Some countries were occupied by the Nazis (Belgium, Denmark, France, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands) and experienced repressive policies together with some forms of collaboration with the occupant. Greece, Spain and Portugal suffered authoritarian regimes and the States from Eastern Europe suffered communist regimes. Baltic States were also annexed to the territory of the Soviet Union. 

By clicking in each country, you will find, below the map, information on the type and duration of the repressive regime as well as a selected bibliography on the regime.